Types of Articles
This is the "Welcome" page of the "Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sciences  

Guide to doing research in the General Sciences
Last Updated: Jul 20, 2010 URL: http://libguides.gtcc.edu/sciences Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Searchable collection of e-book encyclopedias, includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Science, Animal Sciences, Genetics, and UXL Encyclopedia of Biomes.

Science Reference Center
This comprehensive research database searches science encyclopedias and reference books as well as journal articles. Topics covered: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Encyclopedia of Life
Biodiversity website developed by members of the global scientific community with the goal of providing information on all the world's organisms.  The Encyclopedia will be an online reference and database on all 1.9 million species currently known to science

National Biological Information Infrastructure
Data and information about the wildlife biological resources of the United States. Search or browse by species, ecological topic, habitat, or geographic region.

 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Learning Resource Center's guide to doing research in the General Sciences. Use the tabs (and dropdown menus) above to learn more about what this guide can do for you.

Science News & Issues

Need ideas for a research topic? Use these news and issues sources to get ideas

  • Facts on File
    News wires, articles, viewpoints, stats. Includes "Issues and Controversies" and "Today's Science." "Today's Science bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today."
  • SIRS Researcher
    Social issues research, health, science, business, arts, humanities. Also a dictionary and a thesaurus.
  • TOPICSearch
    A current events database that allows you to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
  • PEW Center on Climate Change
    Get credible and objective information on global climate change. Follow state, national, and international issues and policies related to climate change.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Keeley Murray
Contact Info
High Point LRC
Room 218, H4 Building
GTCC, High Point campus
(336) 334-4822 ext. 4153
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip